In need of Sponsorship

I’ve been working through several problems with my project on paper, the biggest of which is the range of the vehicle. I want to use Samsung INR 18650 30Q cells so how many will I need?

Each battery is 3,000 milliamp hours (mAh) and has a nominal voltage of 3.7 volts, which computes to about 11.1 Watt hours (Wh). To increase the battery’s lifespan to an acceptable number of cycles it is customary only to use about 80-90% of the batteries rated capacity each time so let’s assume that each battery has a useful 9Wh of energy stored in it with a little more for emergencies only.

A Nissan leaf usually averages about 340Wh per mile traveled, so if my car is as efficient as a Nissan leaf I will need 340Wh (per mile) / 9Wh (per battery) ≈ 38 batteries per mile range.

More to come about range soon.

I’ve emailed back and forth with a couple dozen battery distributors that I found on Alibaba.com and it looks like I will be paying about $3.50 each for the batteries that I want to use (INR18650 30Q cells from Samsung). This is ok, but it means I have to raise a lot of money to have a long-range EV. For 1,000 batteries it looks like the freight costs will be around $500 so a total of about $4,000.

Leave a Reply

